If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Fungi

As the caravan site was so close to the RSPB Leighton Moss Reserve that had to be the main activity for the day.  It is the first major reserve I have visited since social distancing.  Part of the day impressed but on the whole I am afraid I was underwhelmed. 

I was intrigued that they should collect information for trace and testing.  We were outside at all times and the numbers there were probably through in a day would make it an interesting tracking problem for somebody.  Two of the most accessible hides were closed and the requirement to wear masks in them meant not only did your glasses steam up but the binoculars as well.  Either because of furlough or the inability to use volunteers the vegetation in front of the hides hadn't been cut back.  This meant instead of sitting looking through an open window you had to stand and look through not terribly clean glass.

We made the effort to visit two hides interspersed by lunch in the camper.  The mid afternoon we decided to move on.  Kanyl isn't as mad about birds as I am and I wasn't getting the views I was used to.  We ended up at Arnside again where I had good views of the estuary birds and we had a bit of an experiment with digiscoping but didn't get anything worth blipping.

The blip is a little group of fungi growing beside the track leading to the public hide.  I have no idea what they are but the little group appealed to me, so it is the blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.