Rubbish!

Plenty of snow over night, but by the time I set off for my photography class, the thaw had set in. After the class, I went on a bit of a wild goose chase, but as I was killing time by the river in town, I spotted this heron doing what herons do best - look grumpy. The Don was once declared dead as a result of pollution, but happily now teams with fish and bird life. The River Stewardship company and volunteers do a fine job of managing the river and the canal which runs parallel keeping the vegetation in check, but inevitably, they are fighting a losing battle with the flotsam and jetsam that finds its way into the river and along its banks. I've lost count of the number of times it has become swollen over the last few months, then subsided leaving a trail of debris along the banks. The heron certainly isn't impressed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.