LesTension

By LesTension

GUESS WHO CAME TO DINNER?

HE'S BACK........in the past I've mentioned a family of 13-lined ground squirrels (Spermophilus tridecimlineatus) that resides under the Jersey Barriers at Road America. I always eat lunch at turn 14 with my friend Bill and these little squirrels are the world's best panhandlers. This one is sharing one of my carrots. He also sampled some apple pieces, a piece of tomato a cherry or two and, for dessert, a piece of oatmeal raisin cookie. He eats better than many humans on earth. The local Red-tailed Hawks appreciate us fattening up the menu.

EXTRAS....it was a perfect weather day at the track Saturday with temps in the 70s and a dew point in the 50s. PERFECT! Today is expected to be a rerun of yesterday and I'm stoked. I'll be heading out there in 20 minutes. It's race day!  Photo 1) you see some cars coming under the iconic Speedville Bridge at turn 9 heading into the vaunted Carousel....Photo 2) Turn 14 corner workers Bill and George congratulating the racers on a nice, safe race on the cool down lap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.