DERELICT SUNDAY

I’m not sure it was my day today - first of all I didn’t lose any weight - but on the plus side, I didn’t put any on - then I couldn’t get into our livestream church service and had lots of issues with that and on top of those two things, Alan, the fence man is having issues with the new fence.  He thinks that the builders were probably going to build a wall all along our back boundary, so the footings were put in ready, but then decided it was going to be cheaper to put a wooden fence up, which they did. That hasn’t helped him because as soon as he tries to dig down to put another post in, he hits concrete - so the job is taking much longer and he has had to use more and longer upright posts.  Ah well, at least it isn’t raining today, so we must be thankful for small mercies!  We also have big plans for the bed in front of the new fence, so that's going to be exciting - all will be revealed in due course.

I decided to go out looking for dereliction and left Alan and Mr. HCB mulling over what to do about getting through the concrete because I have no expertise in that field - not sure Mr. HCB does either, but at least he was able to give Alan some moral support.  I have put a collage in as an extra to show the progress of the fence - which also shows Lynn, Mike and Mr. HCB brushing our drive yesterday after Alan and his son, Jaeden, had walked with dirty boots all over it.  We need to keep that clean because it’s being sealed on Tuesday - it’s all going on here!

Off I went and having decided I didn’t want to go too far, I remembered that there was an old derelict bus on the road out of town so that was my first port of call.  I parked the car in a side road and walked over, but couldn’t see enough over the high fence and blackberry bushes to get a good shot so I had to bring Plan B into play, which was to go and fetch the car and drive into the small industrial estate, which I did.  I’m not sure whether I was allowed to go in there, but I was just brazen about it and drove straight in, parked the car, got out, took a few shots, got back in the car and drove off.  Mission accomplished.

Last night when I was looking at the various songs that 60plus recommends each day in her Blip, I rather liked one of them and then found this one by the same songwriter/composer, Elaine Hagenberg.  It is so beautiful and I share it today for anyone who is feeling that things are dark right now and especially for another Blipper whose friend died recently, just to let them know, in the words of the song, "You Do Not Walk Alone".  Enjoy - and the next song that plays on Youtube after this one is lovely too!  

“My hope is that tomorrow will be fine, 
     but, if tomorrow doesn't go well, 
          I shall still hope to be fine tomorrow!” 
Ernest Agyemang Yeboah

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.