BlipCommunity

By BlipCommunity

NoSiesta: A mad spaniel and the great outdoors.

For the next in our series of profiles we meet with blipper Nosiesta, Simon in real life.

His journal is a colourful mix of adrenaline-filled activities and portraits of his mad spaniel alongside quieter moments in the stunning Cumbrian landscape. Simon is a mountaineering and climbing instructor in the UK, but that hasn’t always been his profession.

Like to know more?
Check out the full interview below along with our short film of Simon’s Top Ten blips and don’t forget to visit his journal and say hello here.

Can you tell us a bit about yourself?
Based in the Lake District,  I offer a whole host of adventure activities for all sorts of groups as well as running professional mountaineering and climbing courses both in the Lakes, over in Wales and during the winter, in the Scottish Highlands.

In my spare time, I do a lot of mountain biking, skiing and climbing as well as trying to tire out my springer spaniel. That’s not as easy as it sounds - she’s bonkers, loyal and loves cuddles and carrots. She comes out with me most days and loves to run around in the Lakeland fells.
I’m also a member of a Lakes Mountain Rescue Team too and married to Mrs NoSiesta! I’d say I’ve been a photographer since about 1999, I guess.

How did you become interested in photography?
Through travel and wanting to create better images. My late Uncle Ron was a pro photographer in the Korean War - he taught me photography back in the days of 35mm film, transparencies and the dark room. I went on to freelance as a travel photographer for a few photo libraries. I never made much money, but it helped fund a few trips!

What have been your favourite subjects for photography?
Definitely the adventure themes now, but back in the day it was all about people, places and culture. Especially in the developing nations.

Has photography helped you connect with people?
As a travel photographer, definitely (although that isn’t really my focus these days.) 

What started you blipping?
I wanted a way of recording what I do so that my folks could see what I get up to. A friend, Intothehills, has an account which put me onto Blip. I started as a New Year resolution, as so many people do, to see if I could go for a photo a day! I’ve sort of failed on that, but for me, I’d rather post a shot that means something, rather than trying to force it each day. 
 
What do you enjoy about the concept?
It has made me think about photography again, which is great if you have got lazy and stopped taking the ‘proper camera’ out. It’s nice to reinvigorate old skills. I rarely shoot on my phone anymore, which is great.

How would you describe your journal?
A mix of mad spaniel shots and adventure photography! All hopefully capturing my normal day-to-day life.

Do you have a photographic style?
Err, I guess documentary-style adventure photography.

How important is the journaling side to you? 
Less important. It’s more about the image, but a short caption helps you remember how much fun/stress that day was!

 
ON THE OUTDOORS

What started your interest in mountaineering?
I loved being in the mountains with my family as a kid and was in the Cubs and Scouts back when they were allowed to do things that these days would involve too much paperwork! This got me into walking and scrambling. A friend then introduced me to indoor rock climbing and it progressed from there, many years ago.

Describe some of your favourite places to climb?
I love winter climbing, especially ice. I love the Alps, particularly the Swiss Alps. Scotland in the winter will always be a favourite despite the suffering it endures!
 
Share a couple of your adventures with us.
Too many to think of!
Climbing ice in horrendous weather in the Scottish Highlands, mountaineering in the Alps, getting scared on the rock routes in the high mountains of the Lakes.

More recently, I’ve taken up mountain biking, which I’m not very good at - it’s fun to be a newbie and be learning new skills rather than pretending to be a pro!

 
ABOUT BLIPFOTO

Why Blipfoto?
I liked the photo-a-day concept which requires a bit more dedication than just posting randomly on one of the other gallery sites.

How has daily blipping impacted on your life generally?
It’s made me take my camera out more! I rarely shoot on my phone anymore.

What’s the biggest challenge with daily blipping?
I think you can get into a mindset that you have to blip and then force an image. When you’re mad busy, this can get too much so now I just like to post when I have something worth posting.

What does the Blipfoto community mean to you?
It’s super friendly and not full of anonymous keyboard warriors like the rest of the Internet! Well, I’ve not come across any yet anyway!

What motivates you to keep blipping?
The emails of encouragement I get from my parents. I started this to share with them what I was up to every day. It seems to be working, but I’m not sure they’re that keen with my hanging off steep mountain crags!

What would you say to other blippers or people who are considering signing up?
Do it! What have you got to lose?

Nosiesta’s Top 10
Simon has shared his favourite ten blips with us - enjoy them here in this short film. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.