Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

GWSR

With a day to myself because hubby was busy playing games online I had a lot of places to choose from. In the end I decide to find somewhere to photograph the steam train that runs from Broadway to Cheltenham. I found that you couldn’t get on to the platform at either Broadway or Toddington so I discovered that there was an opportunity at Hales Abbey Halt, a new “request” stop (in normal times) with a nice little bridge not far away. So I drove over there this morning and found a place to park down the lane and then went for a little walk as I was early. I came upon this patch of wildflowers (in extras)growing in a field alongside some other varieties - it looks like they were trying out all sorts of mixes as there were about 10 different blocks next to each other in a line. This was my favourite patch. 
The train arrived and went straight past and I fired off a few shots. The engine is not as impressive as I was expecting, but I was imagining that it would have a nice plaque on the front and a more prominent funnel.  As you can tell, I’m not very familiar with steam trains! 

After a quick lunch back at the cottage I headed to Coombes Hill Meadows Nature Reserve, as it looked like a good one and was only 30 minutes away. I enjoyed a good couple of hours searching for dragons and birds. A few dragons, mainly brown hawkers and common darters were seen, but very few birds. I was a bit disappointed to be honest, but the weather was fine and it was a nice walk in a relatively quiet place. What more can you want on a bank holiday weekend!? 

I had a lovely day and hubby has enjoyed his gaming so all is well. Now we need to find somewhere quiet for tomorrow which is my next challenge. The rest of the week we have pretty much booked now. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.