misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Meet Lottie

Charlotte (Lottie) is an older girl from a Cortland, NY Spay/Neuter Rescue site. She arrived at our home one week ago today and is settling in well enough. I suspect she is over 10 years old although they said she was 3 or 4. The owners turned her in to the rescue when their landlord changed their contract to disallow pets. Very hard on a pet of many years. She has not enough strength in her back legs to jump or climb. Keeps her off the kitchen counters but this means she uses her front claws to pull herself up on furniture. I hope to see those back muscles develop over time.
For those following the Miss Winterfinch blips Lottie may look like her predecessor, Gracie T-t. They both wear black and white tuxedo furs, but Lottie is larger with a white face pattern. This blip shows the back of her head  with her looking out of a window at the bird feeder. She is not as darling looking as was Gracie, but she can pose for future blips to show her style.

Six weeks ago my Gracie Twinkle-toes died during a 100ºF heatwave. She crawled under the front deck where we could not reach her for burial. In a way she has been here wafting her 'scent' ever since as well as her memory all this time. She seems truly gone now.
There is no replacing the hole in my life she has left.
I thought Persey needed another cat companion. He informs me I was mistaken in this opinion. But, now we are learning to accept and love Lottie. She is a needy cat who appreciates having a home with lots of screened opened windows for bird watching and plenty of delicious & expensive canned food.
During these warm summer days Persey comes inside to eat and lounges outside on his deck chair. He chooses to sleep in the garage at night. I leave the window open on the driver's side of the car. He jumps in for his nightly sleep.  Lottie has taken up Gracie's former corner at the bottom of my bed.
It's a new Blip chapter for me.

I have been away from blipping because at the same time I lost Gracie T-t my camera broke. I did not feel like taking any blip interest in my environment very much. Finally, I have a working replacement (Canon Powershot) that I am using for the first time today.
All along I found happiness in poking into my Favourites on Blipfoto to 
cheer me up. Of course, being isolated on the COVID-19 lockdown added to the depression. But, we move forward and back into the garden and nature where life just steadily goes on no matter what we do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.