Sunny wings

It was actually sunny today and the sun was fairly warm. Lots of people about, so we stayed here, as we usually do on a Bank Holiday. 

I watched two excellent Edinburgh Book Festival talks this afternoon - one was with Arundhati Roy who writes and speaks vividly about the current problems in India and in the rest of the world. It was she who caused a stir when she wrote an article about seeing the pandemic as a 'portal to a new world'.

The other talk was given by Author and Illustrator Oliver Jeffries, whose books I have always loved, as have the grandchildren, and which I have probably blipped at some point. He has more recently been creating books that also tell of the problems the world faces and maybe ways we could deal with it. I would really recommend this entertaining talk - you should be able to find it on the 'Watch Again' bit of the Festival website. 

Oliver quotes from his Dad - "The surest sign of intelligence in a human being is curiosity and imagination." I think Blippers meet this. If only we had leaders who could do the same. 

I'm almost certain that this is a Hoverfly. I am curious as to what kind it is, as it looks different from others I have seen, but it is hard as none of my photos show the whole of the markings. 


Addition
Now I have found the photo in Extras and think it is Pyrophaena rosarum - perhaps the man with the book could help here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.