Another hard day in the garden

Phew! I'm not as young as I was! Not a bad day, dry, getting sunnier as the day went on. I've been cutting the shoots off a Rhododendron ponticum I cut down a couple of years ago - the root's too big to get out on the slope so I'll probably have to weedkill the stumps. 

Spent some time this afternoon getting a hazel stump out, with the help of Daughter Two. The whole slope is full of hazels, some of which I'm keeping, but the smaller ones are being given to a friend who's planting a native woodland in her garden. In place of the hazel I planted an evergreen Cornus capitata.

Today's Blip is of a white Crinum, probably Crinum x powellii  'Album', which I bought at Gardening Scotland last year. The ladies on the Dutch bulb stand insisted that they were white (and pink) forms of Vallota, but with the long neck to the bulbs they were obviously not. Pity.

Quote of the Day:

Vidal Sassoon - "The only place where success comes before work is in the dictionary."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.