Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Perched

Last August Bank Holiday I took a day trip to Scarborough. I last saw the sea when I exited Wales on New Year's Eve. I did think about catching the train into the Dales today, but ended up staying at home and going for a long walk on the moor instead.

It stayed sunny for most of the day, which was a bonus. And visibility was good, which meant the expansive views could be enjoyed in full.

Up on Low Plain I was watching a crow joust with a kestrel. The kestrel took a time out in this tree which of course opened up a pleasing conjunction with the Ovenden Moor wind turbines. This one catches the bird walking up the branch to be more comfortably perched. Kestrel-eyed among you may spot the top of Winter Hill mast (at 309.48 metres the UK's eighth tallest structure) between the fifth and sixth turbines - about 50 miles distant. 

At the big ponds on the top of the moor there were lots of very active Southern Hawker dragonflies and possibly some sort of darter which wouldn't pause for a better view. At the far corner of the moor Wheatear and Stonechat were perched on the boundary walls, while a Buzzard mewed overhead. There was a scattering of butterflies throughout the walk: Small Heath, Small Tortoiseshell, Speckled Wood, Wall, Peacock, Small White, Small Copper, Small White and Green-veined White. I still have my fingers crossed for a seeing a Painted Lady before the year is out, but time is against me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.