Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

New

One of the advantages of walking new paths is that they open up new vistas on familiar places. So here is my home of Baildon as viewed from a footpath near the highest point of Hollins Hill.

I started my walk by heading down to the the nature reserve and the river, where I found a nice group of young Mandarin (extra). Then it was a mile or so along the river to Esholt, where I had to vie with the Emmerdale souvenir hunters to secure a cup of coffee from the little Post Office. I seemed to be the only one that had remembered to pack a mask.

From there I took the lane past the old sewage settlement tanks. There is a dispute over this site at the moment (extras) as Yorkshire Water have received permission to put a housing estate here, while local residents are campaigning for a nature reserve. I thought the idea of tying a ribbon for every signature in the online petition was very effective.

Making a long loop through the woods I returned to Esholt and then walked up Old Hollins Hill, with today's main image emerging, and then back through Bradford/Hollins Hall golf courses, down into Tong Park and back up the hill home.

It warmed up at the end, so I saw Speckled Wood, Small Copper and Small White butterflies in Tong Park, having seen only a few Speckled Wood through the rest of the walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.