Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Win

My bank holiday outing was to Alfreton in Derbyshire to meet up with some family and watch Nephew #3 play some football.

A slight oversight in my risk assessment meant I hadn’t anticipated a train crammed with bleary eyed teenagers and their tents and sleeping bags returning from the Leeds Festival, but fingers crossed...

I’d left a couple of hours to potter around Alfreton, and hopefully it’s not too unkind to say that was more than sufficient. I did at least find a milestone (extra) which confirmed that Alfreton is zero miles from Alfreton.

The football offered up a fairly balanced game - Alfreton and Chorley have both had fairly slow starts to the season but we are only a few games in. It was good to get a chance to see Nephew #2 for the first time in a while as all of Chorley’s games last season were behind closed doors. And indeed it had been eighteen months or more since I’d last seen Sister #2, Niece #4 and partners.

Today’s  main image shows Nephew #3 (although in this case wearing #2 :) ) in customary full back duties, taking a throw in. In the end Chorley got the only goal of the game late on, securing their first win of the season.

It was also the first time in eighteen months that I’d seen Sister #2, Niece #4 and partners

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.