Stairway to ... (MM345)

An odd jobs day today.  Starting with the excitement of our son sending a message to say he has accepted a new job offer which sounds just right for him and different from his current job.  Still developing software for Civil Engineers, but working for SkyCiv a company based in Australia, with other staff in the Philippines and Chicago,  so the time zones might well be a challenge!  Stuart will be the only one in Europe.

After that, I had the joy of cleaning the barbecue, followed by connecting up the electricity feed I have been running up to our loft.  Once the solar panels are installed the inverter needs an internet connection so I said I would provide a power-line adaptor they could use.  Just need to ft the sockets in the loft and they can have their connection,  we will have power and lights.  Of course, the existing house wiring was not as I had expected,  the socket I took the spur from is on the landing, directly above the kitchen and fed from the kitchen ring main.   When I tried to vacuum up some of the dust I found two sockets in Gill's sewing room are also off the kitchen ring.  None of this is dangerous,  but it does illustrate why my father always used to say I should not implicitly trust old labels :-)  There was, of course, a degree of footering to get the power-line adaptors to cooperate with each other :-)

The Tour de France is looking interesting this year,  Julian Alaphillippe (team Quickstep) leads the race and is a great loose canon type of rider, contrasting well with the very controlled approach of Team Ineos with Egan Bernal who won last year and will be looking to put their stamp on the first mountain stage tomorrow. Rather like France on a good day playing South Africa at Rugby :-) There could be fireworks to come!


Thanks to Chantler63 for hosting MonoMonday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.