Golden Gate

I know it's red, but glows when the afternoon sun shines on it. 

Here's part of the space we cleared - of piles of sand, stacks of ancient roof tiles, mixed types of stones, bricks, tiles, old pipes, a huge pile of tree trimmings, concrete lintels, bits of asbestos, rolls and bits of wire... In the foreground is the tidy stack of schist I sorted out, might use them for more flooring. There's more to do, but love the way it looks already.

And now I'm doing the annual task of cutting the suckers off the olive trees, you can see them on the ground. I'll let the leaves fall off before I cart them to the pile we've made further up the Land.

listen, if you would listen.
...
to the wholesome
happiness
of being alive
on a patch

of this green earth
in the deep
pleasures of summer.

- Mary Oliver

Gratefuls:
- motivating myself to work after getting very little sleep (but a wonderful catch-up with friends in Brazil till way past 2am)
- Mike freeing an olive tree from an encircling wire digging into its bark
- being outside, touching ancient trees and rocks, feeling the sun on us

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.