I'm not sure exactly what was going on here, I'd been lying on Sam's bouldering mat relaxing and taking no notice, but it was something to do with belay devices and double ropes. Fi had been belaying Mary but wasn't used to double ropes and Mary was getting stressed - it may have been Fi's belay plate at fault, but more likely that Fi needs to practise on an easier route. I should've done the belaying, but neither of them thought. Anywaaay... I opened my eyes and saw them clustered, and their shadows. 

Sam has recently joined the mountaineering club after getting into trad climbing through his uncle, also a relatively new member. Sam is young, strong and keen and he lead a couple of routes we all really enjoyed, and in return we gave him a few snippets of essential safety advice. A day when Fi and I were tired from yesterday's climbing, and feeling very lack lustre, was totally turned around by him :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.