Plus ça change...

By SooB

WIP

I haven't posted many photos of our renovation, mainly because the place is so dusty when work is going on that it is no place for a camera. However today - after 3 weeks of back-breaking work tearing down ceilings and installing new beams and joists, Mr B put his back out doing the shopping. So today was a quieter day on the building front allowing the dust to settle and me to get in with a camera.

And before you ask, yes, this is the house we are actually living in. The more observant among you might ask what exactly is holding up that new looking beam mid-shot. I asked that too - which is why I didn't venture far away from the doorway to safety (the door in the background is not to safety - but in fact to another house which has no stairway between first and ground floor).

The hint of yellow at the top of the shot will show you that there was some sunshine today, in amongst the showers. Time enough for me to measure the length of our garden against the plans of the house and put a marker in for where I think our garden ends. Sadly gardening was off the agenda today. The tickle I felt in my throat last night turned out to be the whiskers of a couple of evil pixies who spent the night sandpapering my throat. Accordingly, I spent the night tossing and turning, alternately freezing and boiling. This morning I clearly looked so pathetic that I was allowed a lie-in while Mr B delivered the kids to school and put his back out shopping. The most that was really achieved today was a frustrating experience at the post office (finally) mailing a parcel and a decision of sorts on fencing for the veg garden. Best get on digging tomorrow. I do not have flu. I do not have flu..

Later I had cause to be annoyed at myself for not standing up for what I wanted to happen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.