Sapphire Blue Tachinid Fly...

...found at the park this morning. I'm not a lover of flies, but this one, with it's sapphire blue body and a head with the texture of cork just caught my eye. And according to Wikipedia, it's useful because it attacks the Forest Tent Caterpillars--those disgusting white "tents" you find on the trees that are grossly teeming with squirming caterpillars inside--they quite literally make my skin crawl! The tent caterpillars attack several kinds of broadleaf trees and shrubs, & can actually defoliate an entire tree, stunting it's growth. I'm on Team Tachinid Fly on this one!
September 1st., & we're at 70 degrees and cloudy. All our windows are wide open to let the breezes blow through, & I'm loving every moment of it! This is my kind of weather! Big thanks to MaryElizaR for taking on the hosting duties of TinyTuesday this month. :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.