HareBrain

By HareBrain

Sea Horse

Delighted to report that no traces of sea horse were found in the fish fingers today.

I found this poor little fella gasping for breath as he was washed up on the beach of the Mar Menor, La Manga, Spain some years ago. He drew his last breath in my hands and then died (obviously).

I hear many of you say that it would have been kinder to have simply put him back in the warm waters of the Mar Menor but he was suffering and far too far way from his home particular blade of Sargassum weed and his family. He would never have been able to swim his way back. He now shares a bowl in my bathroom with a lot of other treasured pieces of shell, coral, smeltings of copper extraction (Israel), star fish (Cyprus), bits of crab, fossils, natural sponge and lovely stones from many parts of the world. My collection is, not only an enormous dust collector, but more importantly reminds me of my wonderful travels.

The Mar Menor used to be an ideal habitat for the seahorse who need calm, warm waters to thrive but it has become, very sadly, a paradise for jellyfish and the numbers of seahorse have diminished dramatically.

#1 daughter is a great devotee of these quaint and captivating creatures and #1 daughter doesn't much hold with seeing this little chap in my bathroom.

(you can tell its been a quiet blip day!!)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.