No use crying over spilt Chardonnay

Mummy hazelh has been rather accident prone this evening. Within two hours of my arrival she broke the lid of the sewing cabinet that my father gave her for her 21st birthday. Then she dropped and smashed a glass of Chardonnay on the drawing room floor. My blip shows the site of the second accident, and the culprit (already with a newly charged glass of white wine).

I drove to Northumberland in Paddy's car this afternoon. I will transport my mother back to Edinburgh tomorrow to spend a few nights with us. Normally I would have preferred to do the pick up by rail, but I didn't fancy sitting in a train carriage on a long journey wearing a mask. In addition, travelling by car means that I can easily transport a few bits and pieces - such as spare buckets and plant pots - back north with me.

The bid that Paddy and Caitlin made today for 'the house next to the pink house' was unsuccessful by a very wide margin. There is no way that they could have afforded the figure accepted, so they don't feel as sorry as they might have done had they been narrowly outbid. Their house hunt will resume again tomorrow.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.