Ann’s eye view

Life has a way of complicating arrangements and yesterday morning didn’t quite work out as planned.
First I had to check that our car insurance was OK and I was still covered.  You know how long that takes to get to speak to anyone.  I even had four tries at following the menu option before I even got near to the option that actually let me talk to someone.  That’s Aviva for you (in this case).  Why do we put up with it?  The young man I finally spoke to was delightful and did his best, but this way of treating customers is a disgrace and with so many people desperate to work, it’s time we had a major re-think.  Our house insurance is with NFU Mutual and I don’t seem to have difficulty speaking with someone in their call centre.  (This little anecdote is just to show that life goes on the same in many respects!)

It was lovely to see Merv and chat and I had a few calls, What’s App and things from my daughter in Australia.  It was lovely to hear from her.

Then I was totally thrown as I had to go to Rotherham to pick up the Memorial leaflet I’d put together for Ann rather than into Barnsley, where I thought I was going (their out of date web site still showed the Barnsley page)!  So that took me longer than I expected and made me late for setting out for Danby.

So I was running 30 mins late to meet the Rev Sally at the church, though I was able to let her know.  It all worked out in the end.  

The photo was taken on a return trip in the evening.  I was hoping to catch the warm light of the setting sun, but this part of the graveyard had already descended into shadow.  It’s still a very beautiful place.  Ann won’t be able to see Pam’s from her final resting place because of the trees on the left but I think she’ll know she’s there.  And Ann will live on in our hearts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.