My first Painted Lady of the year

... and spotted quite late on this mornings walk.  This patch of thistles is in the last field before I join the track that brings me out into the village.

I found my walk harder than usual this morning but it was such a lovely morning I was determined to get to the top of the hill so I could enjoy the walk back down.

Last year there were lots of Painted Ladies - this one was my first this year and the Big Butterfly Count has stopped counting for the year.  There were 6 small tortoiseshell too.

Russell cut the grass and I continued with messages and phone calls linked to Ann’s funeral on Thursday.  I cooked my meal early as I knew I wouldn’t manage it later.  I’m tired now, much more tired than last night, even though I had a 4am start to both days.  

I don’t string words together very well when I’m tired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.