Hard at work

These are some of the workers constructing a much-needed cycling and walking path. Another worker operating a compactor is the first extra - a dusty job, that one. I took both through the car window while I was waiting for G. He had to pick up a couple of things up in town, and I went along for a change of scenery. There are lots of side roads I haven't explored, and another place he had to go was on one of them. The second extra was a little dog at the gate.  Nice to see other parts of the island.
G went over to see how the young couple next door are doing with their renovations and to take them a couple of zucchini. They've tapped into his construction knowledge a few times, and they ended up coming back with him to pick up scaffolding and some other tools. Buffy's brother has recently come back from Germany and his self-isolation period is over, so it was good to meet him. Buffy brought over some apples to trade for the zucchini. I told them about the zucchini bread I've been baking, and her brother said, "Oh, zucchini bread! I like the sounds of that!" I gave them half of the loaf I made yesterday, and the next one I make will include applesauce from their apples rather than bought sauce. I've tried a couple of recipes and the one with applesauce is really moist and delicious. Buffy also told me that her mum freezes grated zucchini, so I'll definitely be trying that. I'm going to sneak some into the pasta sauce tonight.  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.