NOT my best foot forward!

After only 5 hours sleep you could say I was crabbit at breakfast. I told Mr C we should go out in the car with a flask of coffee and sit and look at the view like old people.

Him “OK, where do you want to go?”
Me “Why don’t you make it a mystery tour?”

He looked like a rabbit caught in the headlights as I knew he would.

I have him a couple of minutes to panic before suggesting Seaton Point. (I thought I might be able to hobble down to the sea from there).

Chris's car was there and we spotted her walking her dogs on the beach. I phoned her to say we were waving to her.

I got down via quite wide steps with a rail and I had one crutch. Walking on the beach was sore but it was good to get out and have a blow.

On the way we’d picked up some wool I’d ordered from Finefettle fibres to try a new Shetland beanie pattern. I have 6 or 7 made already during lockdown - I have no idea what to do with them except give for for Christmas presents. I made one for Sheila last year but she can’t wear it as the wool is too scratchy so I’d better remember to to foist another on her!

The car was making a funny smell on the way home. Mr C is hoping it is the brakes and not the clutch as that will be ver6 expensive. I did think the smell was when he changed gear though.. It wasn’t new to us and is 5 years old we’ve never had a Ford before as Mr C doesn’t think they are as reliable as VW, but we had to get it quickly as the old one was very old and dying. Our man who does cars is away till next week.

I’m living in the world of Elizabeth Bowen. It’s unforgettable and there will be lots to talk about at book group if I can get there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.