Mason Bay sunset

It was forecasted to rain throughout the day, so I wasn't expecting to see much of a sunset. Yet by the early evening the sky was starting to light up brilliantly, orange and gold. I walked down to the dunes behind Mason Beach and watched the colors change and clouds shift, the light playing over the dunescape. When it started getting dark I headed back up the wide grassy path to the DOC hut. When I was nearly there I looked up and 30 meters ahead there was a kiwi running (well, waddling) at full speed in my direction. I froze and watched as it bounded down the trail straight for me. It nearly ran right into me, noticing me just as it reached my feet. Startled, it darted into the bush and crashed through the ferns into the depths. I stood dumbfounded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.