Lunchview

The jetty no longer has a purpose and the shower is abandoned for the season. In my lunch break I overlooked my island from the mainland, happy about this mornings brilliant concert. 
In a short while I'm starting my second concert, not aware it's going to be a depressing one for me. 

I'm familiar with the huge difference in the general feel I get when I arrive at a new home for the elderly. Sometimes it's the tone of voice from the person in charge or the gestures the personnel use in their contact with each other or their residents, or the general mood among the old people. All these things and many more, can have a good or a bad feel to them. Mostly I can feel the love between the one treating and the one treated, evident in the tone, the strokes over someones hair, the looking in the eyes, the smiling, the noticing. They are the easiest places for me to play.

There are also contrary places where the personnel is doing their "job" but where I see very little contact in gestures, looks, smiles, tone of voice etc.
My second place today was a private home in a rather good area of the city. I had high expectations but the short, efficient, almost unfriendly tone of voice from the  manager on the phone was not a good sign. The buildings were worn down, holes in the plaster, unpainted wood, overgrown garden not being tended to, unfriendly, snappy voices between the staff and short language to the elders. Only three people stayed the whole concert, one of them couldn't hear but stayed and looked intensely at me, no staff in sight during the whole time, no reaction from the remaining listeners until I had finished when one of them said it had been wonderful and that she hoped I would be back some other time. I left in relief.

The last place of the day was also private but owned by the same company as the previous one. The personnel there was better towards me and the elders but still I had the feeling that both dwellers and staff was on their own there,  as they were in the other place. I was a bit depressed when I got home and hope this is not the rule among private homes for old people.

For me, it's weekend. I need to rest my voice and get ready for the last six homes next week. I wish you all a good weekend. Love someone if you have the opportunity. Stroke someone over the cheek for me and say something nice to anyone at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.