Way out

So today the physios came to see me and we tested whether I could walk upstairs or not which I managed to do without crutches or anybody helping me, I just have to stop at a couple of times but I made it so it was decided I could go home, I then had to wait for hours for my medication, I am on so many different things it’s ridiculous!
I’m still in a lot of pain but the medication really does help.

The ladies I’ve been in with, Jane, Beth and Carrol were all discharged today as well, it’s odd how lying around in hospital when you’re not well in a state of undress you just tell each other very personal things, we got deep about our families and childhoods and our children et cetera and we also had a hell of a lot of laughs as well. Jane’s transport came early in the morning, Carol was next mid morning, then after lunch Beth was picked up so then it was just me, they finally sorted out my prescriptions at about 4 pm. John the Philippine nurse Who has just been so lovely was there to discharge me, I thanked him warmly for all his kindness and help.

I took this photo as a lovely man pushed me in a wheelchair with all my stuff to the exit to meet Max, Our lovely neighbour Kate gave him a lift, she bought a back support cushion for me for the car journey which was really helpful and has lent it to me.

It was emotional to see Max at the entrance, I push my wheelchair right up to the car and in I got. I was very tired when I got home, every exertion feels like I’ve done a workout at the moment, Max made a delicious curry for dinner, I spent the whole time lying on the sofa in different positions, I have to keep turning and changing the way I lie, I also did some of my exercises. Doing stairs again is very tiring, we don’t have a downstairs loo so I have climbed quite a few flights today.

A friend recommended a comedy on Channel 4 called gameface, it is absolutely hilarious so we watch that together.

Gulliver was at home when I got back and had really missed me, his hair looks even longer and he’s long enough to tie in a ponytail now, Zebedee didn’t get back until quite late so I only saw him for about five minutes.

Max has kindly written out a routine for all my drugs, I am now in my lovely bed which she has changed for me with my morphine next to me should I need it in the night.

What an ordeal it has been, I really want to work very hard to get myself in great shape now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.