LesTension

By LesTension

THE INNOCENCE OF THE YOUNG

I was sitting outside on the patio with herself sipping a cuppa when I saw this very young Eastern Gray Squirrel (Sciurus carolinensis) running across the neighbor's lawn directly toward us. Little did I know that its sibling was already close by peering over the back stoop at us....maybe 3 feet away...good thing I had the camera close by. They both jumped up on the stoop and engaged in a little sibling rough-housing, eventually explored our covered grill and then kinda watched us for 20 minutes or so. We never made a move toward them but they both got close enough to sit on my shoe. Then they casually went back to their home tree in the neighbor's yard and never made a return trip. I'm guessing mom dressed them down for getting too close to humans. Too bad they have lost their innocence...or maybe the resident hawks or feral cats got them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.