I managed a four mile local walk today, the first since I bruised my heel so I was very pleased. I spied this field over the hedge, and since there was a way through I went closer to see what was growing. It seems to be what I think is Purple Tansy and another plant that looks like a variety of Persicaria, although the leaves don't look quite right. But more baffling than the what is the why? The field is huge and the plants have obviously been sown as a crop... Aha I've searched and the answer is that both plants, purple tansy and buckwheat, are grown as an insectary cover crop, good for pollinators and for the soil!

I also saw quite a few dragonflies and butterflies, including comma, red admiral and also a small brown one with creamy yellow spots around the wing edges on the upper side. I've looked it up and think it's a brown argos, although my book says the spots are orange not yellow, but perhaps a variation?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.