Perspective

I took this more as a journal shot, but I like the lines in it.

Long term readers will no doubt be unsurprised to read that I don't like it when a job I think I should be able to do (however limited my evidence or experience) turns out to be more difficult than I thought. I'll admit there was a point half way through laying this real wood floor that I briefly considered I might have underestimated it's difficulty and might need to call in a favour, but several things happened that kept me going.
As I worked my way along in 6" & 8" random planks I could see the pile of unused wood diminishing, quickly. But it always look like there won't be enough and there is.  And then there wasn't.
A call to Phil and he'd got his sums wrong, and he quickly milled me some more.... But all in longer lengths. Which have their advantages aesthetically, but are much more difficult to work with.
Especially when the laser sight on your saw dies... So I went old school, pencil and set square. The saw, to be fair, has been an amazing workhorse, but I'm guessing it never signed on for this much continuous use. It certainly now needs a new blade, but thankfully I already knew to sand all my joints, so you can hardly tell.
As ever the last board was the trickiest, but after nearly two months both my plan and my jigsaw skills worked.
There's even an access hatch for where the cables come in from outside.
Now it just needs a varnish, skirting boards and a dado rail and I can move in.
I need a beer, a bath and a nap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.