Anne M. at home in their garden

I visited Anne M. this morning to hand over some digital picture files of some photos I'd recently printed for her and her extended family. I'm pleased to say that they really like them.

We stayed in the garden because she and Ian are still keeping safe distances from everyone, as they are in a vulnerable category. While Anne made some coffee for me I pottered about and took a few pictures. When she returned she carried on talking to me as I snapped away.

We chatted for ages about many things including various local art projects and also the imminent AGM of the Stroud Preservation Trust, of which we are both trustees. Anne was a founder member in the 1980s and was pivotal in saving many old buildings from being demolished. I'm going to produce a slide show of old images of the town including many buildings we have been involved with, not always successfully. Sadly she is resigning from active involvement in the Trust. She will be sorely missed.

I love their garden. They moved into this building when it was a near ruin in 1980. Ian is a local historian as well as being chair of the Stroudwater Textile Trust, so he knows a huge amount about the story iof the woollen industry in the Stroud valleys, which goes back to the 12th century. Anne told me the background to the house's history, it having been built in the 1820s. They have extensive grounds and yet are only a few hundred yards from the town centre. Even so it is extremely quiet and thus peaceful. A proper haven.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.