Inquisitive

I was safely behind a big fence. No way would I have been this close otherwise. I was wearing a bright pink T-shirt which meant there was no way I was getting past this lot without being noticed.

We had an online staff meeting and it was really interesting to see all the work the on-site staff have been doing to the library - epic effort! The place looks so different. All the computers have been taken out, along with a load of chairs. All the desks are marked up to show whether they can be used or not (about 1 in 3 are in use) and they are all going to be numbered as they will have to be booked in advance.  There are also one way systems marked on the floors and shelves as well as up and down staircases with students coming in on the top floor and exiting on the ground floor.  The staff have worked so hard to get that all in place. 

It will be interesting see how it works out in practice.  Or hear in  practice as I won’t be heading back yet. We can only have so many people in our staff office so I am staying working from home as I can do my stuff remotely. Some stuff can only be done on site so we need to allow room for all that activity.

It is going to be the strangest start to the term ever!

I was also covering our Online Open Day all week - not that I answered any library questions! That is mainly because when we do our normal onsite open days it is always the parents that stop and ask questions rather than the students. As the students were just choosing online which place to go and ask questions, no-one heading our way.  I was in a Student Services group area and we had students helping and they would send a holding message if we were busy helping someone else and couldn’t answer immediately. It wasn’t until Friday that we realised he had been asking people to ‘bare with me’ - essentially asking students to get naked all week.  We all had a good chuckle over that ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.