Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Band-winged Meadowhawk

The Cameron Peak fire (about 60 miles away) flared up again yesterday and the smoke was terrible by afternoon.  Last night we were sitting in the living room with the windows open and it smelled like there was a campfire on our front lawn.  I went out a little while ago to see what it was like.  The sun is out but the air is thick with smoke and ashes are falling from the sky.  It's so sad that the firefighters aren't able to gain any control over the fire.  We're all hoping the snow coming on Tuesday will help the situation!

Fortunately for me, this dragonfly was perched in the garden when I went outside and she waited for me to go in for my camera.  After a few quick shots, I came back inside where I plan to stay for the rest of the day.  I am grateful that we are not threatened by the fire and we can get away from most of the smoke by staying inside!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.