woods

D is at college all day on a Monday, but ironically that means he is at home all day just now, having tuition on the internet. So Monday is now the day when I do the supermarket shop and then go for a walk, to leave him some peace and creative space :-)

It was raining quite hard this morning so I decided on a walk in Mabie Forest for the shelter from the elements and also because Jess likes it. We did the yellow Nith Walk (4 and a half miles) and had it all to ourselves.

D and I went on another short walk together later in the day (the rain had stopped by then). We picked some blackberries which I made into a crumble for tea.

Some good news pinged into my phone this afternoon for which I am feeling thankful. 


How I go to the woods

Ordinarily, I go to the woods alone, with not a single

friend, for they are all smilers and talkers and therefore

unsuitable.

I don’t really want to be witnessed talking to the catbirds

or hugging the old black oak tree. I have my way of

praying, as you no doubt have yours.

Besides, when I am alone I can become invisible. I can sit

on the top of a dune as motionless as an uprise of weeds,

until the foxes run by unconcerned. I can hear the almost

unhearable sound of the roses singing.

If you have ever gone to the woods with me, I must love

you very much.”


Mary Oliver

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.