Rear view

Right in the centre of the village is an intriguing building with outside steps up to the first floor. I have featured it before on Blipfoto, so this morning I ventured round the rear of the building for a closer look. It has obviously been altered and developed many times over very many years. My local history book shows a building on this site in the 14th century. At one time it was an ale house called The Kings Arms. The tiny window is fascinating. It appears to be unglazed. This little courtyard is open to the street so it is vulnerable, hence the security lights.
I had been to the local library, thankfully open again after a prolonged closure. Normous is a fast reader, and since lockdown I think he has read most of the books on our shelves. He will be pleased to have a new selection, I just hope he likes the books I have chosen for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.