Skipping Day

3years 114days

Scarborough has a tradition established since at least 1903, and possibly before, of a mass long-rope skipping event on Shrove Tuesday, on the South Bay Foreshore. It is suggested that its origins lie in the local fishermen sorting their ropes and nets at this time of year, and giving those not fit for fishing to children. Since at least 1853 a dignitary or celebrity has rung a special bell at noon on Shrove Tuesday, supposedly to signal to housewives that they should begin pancake making when the tradition began. These days the bell is rung by the mayor or deputy mayor, to signal the start of the skipping. Schools participate, and hundreds of adults including those in their seventies take part. When the event is at its height there can be thousands involved
BritishFolkCustoms.com


When I was a child, and a teen, and then a nanny, one of the thousands would always be me. Even the year that we all had chicken pox, my parents still took us skipping, in a secluded area near enough that we could see the rest of the people. One year, I was even in full page shot in a national newspaper, skipping at the beach with one of my charges, in the snow. The half term school holidays in Scarborough is often timetabled to allow them Shrove Tuesday off, and when its not possible, schools allow parents to take their children out for the afternoon.

Katie and I cant go to Scarborough this afternoon, but I explained to her today a little about the story and we went skipping together before nursery. Mummy had a skip too. She asked to skip again after nursery, so I will make sure I'm back for her in daylight to have another go!


For Grandad xxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.