EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

Making cushions!

Another wasted day trying to resolve the Vodaphone internet problems...it takes me 10 minutes to open a link, images are just timing out.....

Whilst sat in the 'Non electronic queue' (Due to the service failing at all angles, resulting in a paper 'Queue' system, comprising of 20 pieces of 'Scrap' paper being handed out and gathered into be reused) at the Luxor Vodaphone shop today (Worked very well I might add) I sat next to a youthful, chic and sophisticated young lady.

Immediately, I noticed her sunglasses...I wanted them! The arms were golden snakes and bejeweled, they mesmerized me! Her boots, her bag, her clothes, her nails, her stature... her whole being was very different to the Luxor ladies I am accustomed to seeing.

We immediately started talking, her English was impeccable. We spoke of the internet issues initially, but soon discussed our backgrounds and Luxor connections. I was very weary of many days of trying to resolve the internet issue, but Zaneb, was very confident the problems would be resolved and instilled a positivity into me.

Those gorgeous sunglasses came into the conversation and were offered, almost forced upon me.
Never, in any Country, have I been afraid to pass comment on something I like. In Egypt, if you admire anything, it will be offered to you, many times and it becomes a 'Battle' to not accept the 'Said' object.

Zaneb, as I found out later, also had the same internet problem as me. She had literally arrived from Cairo, her suitcase by the door of the Vodaphone shop and was desperate to get home and see her family. Studying sociology in Cairo, she neededthe internet for her studies.

Her whole being, her personality, was directed towards me in a caring, assuring and positive way. I was struck by her confidence, her direct approach, her honesty and her intelligence. She told me she was tired, she had travelled from Cairo, but she read me like a book.
She became assuring, calming and engaging. Shortly after our meeting, I was a lot less stressed then when I arrived at Vodaphone!

Zaneb is a lady that will go far and impact on many peoples lives. I envied and admired her strength and direction, as she is a shining example of the future of Egypt. As always, there is so much to share, but, I must keep it short....

Thank you Zaneb, it was fabulous to meet you.
Sadly, I got home, plugged the USB in and I still have very poor internet after being assured it would be working........

This was the calming image as I turned into my street. The Fayrouz Hotel, are renewing the cushions for the Diccas (Benches) the guests sit on. This is how the cotton is shredded, before it is packed into cotton casing...Dusty but fun!!

**Others **

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.