loisbiz

By loisbiz

Becoming an Adult?

This isn't the clearest of photos but I love the way it shows the few colorful feathers appearing on this young male hummingbird's neck. He was my entertainment this afternoon, along with many Bushtits, a Flicker and lots of Goldfinches. 

I have not heard from my daughter since her one text at 8:30 PM last night ......I asked her to stay in touch so I am so surprised I haven't heard anything today.....I can only assume she has no cell service where she is today......I am also assuming she is safe. She is a sensible girl and the person she is with seems to be a responsible person....so I am not too worried.......but there is that little bit of wondering if she is really safe with all the fires in the California area.

Last night our power went out so we were left with no air purifier, no fans and our windows closed to keep the smoke out...it was not easy sleeping. But this morning we woke to clear skies.....it is still windy but the smoke was no long thick outside. It was a pleasant surprise. But I am sure the smoke contributed to making the sunset very pretty tonight...see extra if you have time..

I am grateful for a safe place to lay my head tonight and I am feeling sadness for those who were without a roof to shelter them last night.....there really is an unfairness to life, isn't there? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.