Dunstan Steads to Craster

Goodness we are being spoilt with the good weather. So far we have had nothing but sunshine during the day with mild temperatures. Any rain has done us the courtesy of only falling through the night.
However I still haven’t felt the urge to extricate my swimming costume from the foot of my case.

I was inveigled by the red blush on the eastern sky to get up before 6am and go out to catch the sun rise over the sea. However with Sod’s Law in force, a thin band of cloud obscured the event, although halfway through my circuit of the strangely empty golf course it rose above the cloud band and blazed straight into my eyes, blinding me.

After breakfast we girded our loins and did a circular walk from the house to Craster, the neighbouring fishing village, and back by Dunstanburgh Castle. It was amazingly busy en route but with luck and determination we found the Shoreline Café in Craster for the proverbial scone and coffee, and a very acceptable scone it was too - a large fruit one of a somewhat artistic shape, if you must know.

It’s down time now and I am waiting for the first snore to break the silence- oh no, not I of course, I wait until a DVD film on is put on after supper. That’s my trigger and it never fails.

But first we look forward to the early sundowners where we can sit with them outside in the sunshine and breathe in the scent of honeysuckle and roses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.