Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sometimes...

...you just get lucky.  The luck started when I spotted this most colorful beetle on my goldenrod (a Locust Borer).  I've seen this species in the field, but never in our garden, so that was a bit of excitement.  The luck continued when it suddenly opened its shell, revealing its gossamer under wings, in preparation for flight.  And the final bit of luck is that my shutter burst caught it. 

And in case you are wondering, the irony of getting excited about a wood boring beetle has not escaped me.   In fairness though, we do not have an black locust trees on our property, so there is nothing here for the beetle except for goldenrod, which is the preferred food of the adult beetles.  In fact, they are great pollinators, not to mention lovely to look at!  See a dorsal shot in Extra.  

I'm fighting a major sinus headache today thanks to very high humidity.  There is a weather system moving into the area tonight so that accounts for the humidity.  I've dosed myself up with Flonase and am planning to take the kayak out for a paddle (with hubs) this afternoon.  

Only two hummers in the garden today although I expect a few more may arrive later in the day ahead of the weather system.  We'll see.  This time of year, they don't stay long, just enough time to feed and then they are off again.  In addition to the feeders, my garden has lots of nectar rich flowers right now, so plenty for all.

And, now, I'm off to have a bite of lunch before heading out for a paddle.

Stay safe, be kind, etc....

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.