a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Tales of the riverbank

Wide Wednesday: Reflections


This is the River Avon near Saltford, looking towards Kelston Roundhill.

Younger readers should skip this paragraph.  If you are of a certain age, then you may remember the black and white children's TV programme "Tales of the River Bank" starring Hammy Hamster, Roderick the Water Rat, G.P. the Guinea Pig, Wise Old Frog and others.  Over the years multiple readings of Wind in the Willows have tended to blur my memories of the original in my mind, so much so that I was surprised to be reminded that the lead character was the hamster and not the water rat when I consulted wikipedia this evening.

I need to let off a little steam at this point.  Please feel free to skip over the following rant.  I finally managed to get a Skype conversation with Dad in his care home today.  The Care Home do a wonderful job in so many areas where it matters that I feel bad about criticising their inability to sort out Skype. You have to book the call, then you ring a few minutes before it is due to start so that they can make sure that your relative has the tablet and is able to receive the call.  My call booked for Monday didn't take place because they hadn't switched on the tablet and their land line was engaged for the 40 minutes it took for me to eventually get through to them.  The person I spoke to initially told me that they didn't do Skype calls during the day, but changed her mind when she looked at the booking diary.  My replacement call booked for Tuesday didn't take place because they had forgotten that Dad had a physical appointment at the allowed time.  My call today in substitution, eventually took place after a 30 minutes delay.  Not because Dad wasn't available but because problems at their end had meant that the earlier calls all overran.  

It was lovely to see and speak to Dad - and at least I did get to do that.  When I mentioned this to my brother earlier he wryly commented that I should try doing it with the 5 hour time delay he has to factor into his calls to Dad.  So I should count my blessings really :-)

As a retired lawyer I'm horrified and disgusted that my country's Government is seriously proposing to break international law.  I'd better stop there for tonight I think ....!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.