Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Yes, it is a squirrel...

who came up to the bird bath on the porch to get water.  Luckily for him, we filled it up with fresh water yesterday.   I tried to get the shot of him hanging over the edge with his feet dangling but he apparently heard me come to the window with the camera.     As you know I don't like squirrels but I did not mind him drinking the water...as long as he stayed away from the bird seed!!

A walk around the yard this morning...it was actually pleasant since we had cloud cover that spit some rain out later.   I found some interesting things so I had to share them all.   The deer is a baby from this spring who came to the deer feeder by itself;  I noticed his white leg!   Hopefully I will be able to recognize him/her when it comes back in the future.   A spider had one long web across the back porch between two posts and a leaf was just hanging there.  I love when that happens.   A volunteer flower, a Madagascar periwinkle,  that was not blooming in the flower bed before today.  I have no clue how it got there...assuming a bird dropped something!     There are actually three plants coming up under the butterfly weed.     The green leaf is cassia growing in the pot under the lemon tree!   No clue how that got there either  and again it was not there before I left to go to NC last week. The other plant is at least 20 feet away from this pot.    I keep watching for the 10 lemons to get ripe so I know I had not seen it before.    The butterfly weed is buggy..the milkweed beetle and the aphids are having a good time.    Those aphid things bleed yellow blood.   I still have no caterpillars or eggs so I guess I just lucked out on the monarchs this year. 

Tiny Tuesday entries had some really great "stitches".  It was hard to choose just five but here is what I decided!

rmeinz  An appliqued stitching done by her mother...I love heirloom works.

suejay50   a pair of stitched animals on a tiny bag

CowgirlCarol  A lovely hand stitched embroidery 

DawnP   Tiny stitches on doll house furnishings

 JohnW  repair stitches on the dog leash...not everything has to be perfect!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.