Eye eye

Body maintenance becomes very time-consuming after 70.

Thankfully I have a personal chauffeur as I can’t drive for 5 weeks. Mr C drove me to the Hub/hospital this morning where the nurse removed the foot dressing and agreed it looked a bit inflamed but she didn’t think it was infected - the oozing was as a result of fluid built up. I must keep the foot elevated more and it should be ok,

Then it was a drive to Morpeth to see the optician as I’m finding it harder to read the small print, especially if the colour is not very contrasting - such as Blip’s pale grey on white.

For £80 I got several retina scans and numerous other tests, It should all have taken 45 minutes but I was in for 2 hours. He thinks I may have hazing in my reading eye which happened to my left about the same time after its cataract op, but if so it is too soon to have it treated. Then the scan was done again as he thinks I might have dry macular degeneration. I had severe myopia, minus 16, which causes distortion of the retina which makes it more prone to this. That is not good news - nothing can be done and it is progressive. - however as it was hard to get a good enough scan he’s going to consult with a doctor at the RVI and will ring me. If I do need laser for the hazing it will be a 6 month wait on NHS as they are so behind with Covid.

So now with foot elevated, I’m going to read Girl Woman Other. (Thankfully it’s large print!)
You were right, I’m getting in to it though I still wouldn’t have given it a prize.

Ps and just to put things in perspective I’ve found out an old friend from student days has died. Marilyn’s obituary was in today’s Scotsman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.