A Very Smoky Day

It was so smoky today that I really didn't leave the house. I did an indoor workout so I could get some exercise, but otherwise worked at my desk. The day felt somber and eerie. 

There seems so little to say. Friends have been evacuated from their homes, everyone is on edge as the fires spread to the Portland suburbs. There are more than 50 fires in the State of Oregon, currently 0% uncontained, which have consumed 300,000 acres and at least two small towns. It's devastating - so beyond the virus and all of the other misery that this year has wrought. 

I know that we'll be fine, and my family and most of the people that I know. But the angst and worry and devastation are palpable. We pray for rain - it looks like there's some in the forecast next Monday night. 

These lovely begonias are so pure and white (well except the brown where they're going by) and damp with drops of water (not rain, sadly). I wish that I could transform this terrifying landscape we're living in into a pure wet lovely begonia flower...crazy analogy but you probably know what I mean. At some point all of this devastation and havoc will end and a new beginning will emerge. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.