Less Windy and More Smoky!

So many fires now burning in western Oregon that it's just horrifying. The color of the sky is eerie. The wind has died down a bit here where we live (in westernmost Portland in Washington County) and I really hope that it will follow suit everywhere else. The virus has become secondary.
Oregon Wildfires

All that being said, I had a very enjoyable afternoon with my parents, who seem to be doing extraordinarily well, all things considered. My mom absolutely crushed me at three games of Backgammon. She can't see very well, and she needs help moving the pieces, but her mind is sharp. 

There is major work being done on the I5 bridge between Oregon and Washington starting Saturday and going through the following Sunday. I'm expecting that I won't be able to get to them during this time, which breaks my heart. There's only one other bridge, and I suspect that traffic will be snarled to a standstill. But we'll FaceTime if that happens.

Meanwhile, Rosie the Riveter is still going strong in the garden. Most of the garden is wind blown and desiccated despite watering. It will take some time to clean up when the winds and temperatures settle down. We need rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.