A Difficult Day

Well, it wasn't meant to be...but I got an ocular migraine in the midst of my golf game this morning...couldn't see very well and finally just walked with my friends instead of trying to play. Fortunately it didn't blow up into a full on headache, but didn't have any medicine with me. So I took it when I got home. Ugh. 

Then I spent the afternoon talking with my mom's retirement facility about moving her into a more appropriate accommodation, and then explaining it all to my siblings. We're going to go see what's available on Monday morning and then talk with mom. I can't even imagine the conversation. Coincidentally, her doc called me today (he's part of the community and sees her at her home) and said that she'd developed a pressure wound that needed to be kept extremely clean (difficult since you can image where it is) and the dressing changed two times a week for six weeks. And because she's in independent living, she doesn't have access to nursing care, only caregivers. Another proverbial log on the fire. 

Ugh, ugh, ugh. In the end I think it will be an excellent move for her, with many opportunities for socializing and new friends. 

I'm so grateful to you all for your wonderful support and stories about your own parents. Thank you all so very much.

My first wander around the garden this morning netted absolutely zero good photos. But this afternoon I got several, including this cosmos. I do love looking up from under flowers! The extra is a volunteer sunflower that must be at least 11' tall and is listing dangerously over my back garden. But it seems sturdy enough and I can't imagine that I have a stake big enough to even try to hold it up! I think it has it's own micro climate at the top - the bees sure are loving it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.