A Day with Mom

Being Wednesday, I headed over to Vancouver, WA to spend much of the day with my mom. We played some word puzzles (Flower Power if you know it) and then I started reading "The Language of Crows" by Michael Westerfield which mom had requested. I read the preface and introduction and started Chapter 1 when she started snoring. It's not boring, nor am I, it's just that she always naps in the morning!

On my way home I talked with both of my sisters. Mom's care has gotten to a very fragile point - she needs 24 hour care and is still living in their 2 bedroom independent "cottage" across the street from the main facility. The reason they moved to this community was because it has various levels of care available and they always said that when one of them died, the other could move into the main house to get more care. We didn't want to move mom right after dad died, but it's evident that filling in the caregiving schedule and managing the house is taking a toll on my youngest sister, who spends at least 3 nights a week with mom. We agreed that it's time to talk with facility about moving mom over to a place where she can have 24 hour care without hiring individual caregivers. With winter coming, the worry is greater what with weather and illness. I think it will take some time, and certainly some finesse. But it will be great to be able to spend time with mom as her daughters, and not worry about the caregiving piece of it. I'm curious whether any of you have been through this....mom is adamant that she does not want to move. 

I did a wander in the garden when I got home - "Rosie the Riveter" has blossomed once again! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.