Something Different

Phew today was a long day! Let’s just jump to picking up my grandson around noon, and his sister at school (3rd grade) and then heading off to the Oregon Zoo here in Portland. I’m a member so reserved my tickets ahead of time, knowing that we’d had the opportunity this afternoon for a visit.

It was a gorgeous afternoon - blue skies and mid-70’s at the most. Perfect in my book. We had a grand time, getting accustomed enough to the zoo now that we now head for the exhibits we want to see. Today was polar bears…although they were present they were having an afternoon siesta, like many of the animals this afternoon.

The highlight of the visit today was the carousel - I can’t remember the last time it was open. I tried to find the history of it (oh I am sure there is one) but alas. I paid $3.50 each for the kids and was pronounced a “chaperone” so did not have to buy a ticket. The kids absolutely loved it, although I was somewhat surprised by my own dizziness. Anyway I tried to capture something of the joy of this amazing ride that somehow doesn’t really belong in a zoo….but then again made the adventure so delightful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.