Leader of the Gang

It's been a long but ultimately productive day at the office. Quite a few issues with the production systems sorted and some important design decisions with the new software made and ready for the guys here to get busy configuring.

I discovered yesterday that my watch had started to run slow so I had a reason to go into town at lunchtime other than to get my sandwich. I found a very friendly jewellers who not only replaced the battery for me but also set the time right, and the calendar even, which had never been done since I first bought the thing. He showed me how. I'd never been bothered to work it out for myself.

I love local shops which give this level of service - but I don't have a relationship with many, and I think none at all in Ilkley where I live. The reason for that is mostly because they are never open when I need them to be. They have the right idea on the continent where shops close during the afternoon for a siesta and open again in the evening. I've always regarded weekends to be too precious to be spent on shopping and, as a result, I rarely ever use the shops in Ilkley. With local retailers coming under increasing pressure from out of town stores and, of course, the internet, perhaps this is where they can provide an added level of service, by creating a local shopping culture of an evening. But perhaps I'm just trying to assuage my guilt from doing a lot of my shopping on-line. It was interesting that just I was musing on this point I chanced upon yesterday's wonderful blip from Giacomo. He's helped make me feel even more guilty now! And rightly so. I'm going to try harder.

I took a few candidate shots for phoneworld today but this street shot proved to be my favourite. These pigeons rule Market Square on non-market days. Nobody messes with them ... especially this guy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.