Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Hot chocolate

My car had developed a sickness. When I got back to it after one of our lunches in Matt the Thresher the windows were misted over and the interior was very hot, and the same thing happened a few weeks later. Road-side assist the first time suggested there was a problem with the cooling system and I've been wary of taking anything but short trips since.

When I went to book it into the garage I was surprised to learn that they were fully booked for the next three weeks, today being the earliest they could accommodate me. Carl picked me up after I dropped the car off and we stopped off for refreshments at the Lazy Days café nearby. It was busy, but we managed to get a table outside. My hot chocolate was really, really good, as were the pastries we both had.

From there we went on to Blackrock, where I was really impressed with the new one-way system (Extra) they've put in place as a response to the pandemic. I was there to visit Cloney Audio to pick up a wireless speaker for home audition. After sorting that out, Carl dropped me off at Booterstown DART station to make my way home. This was the first time I've been on public transport since Covid-19 took over our lives back in March, and very strange it felt.

When I got home and settled down I went about setting up the speaker and put it through its paces. It's a rather expensive bit of kit, but it didn't take long for me to realise that it isn't for me. I looks great, it's very compact, but its sound doesn't suit the classical music which I'd be using it to listen to. Ah well, that's money saved …

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.