Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Surveying the Mess

Went out only for a few minutes on the roof deck to record the smokey air today. (extra  I can’t see anything of downtown at all. or any sun.  this is west, towards Gasworks Park)  )   The AQI isn’t quite as high as when we sat outside (too long) last night but the smoke does seem thicker and it’s such an eerie dark dirty yellow inside, all the colors look altered. My socks were not the color I thought I was getting:-)    While I was out I heard this very distinctive call and saw this flicker just sitting on the chimney pipe about 4 condos away….only had the 70mm…but llked this one with the ruffled feathers and the neighbor’s pigs and another’s sunflowers.    I think it must be a red shafted female..no red visable..I did see the white rump when it flew away.  The trees you barely see are on the other side of the Lake.

Oh it must be so unhealthy for the poor birds and the other animals out there…. what have we done?   San Francisco up the coast to Vancouver BC has the worst air on the planet right now, and then Dubai and Kuwait.  It’s all unreal. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.